SCBWI

Society of
Children's Book Writers
and Illustrators

Event: Illustrator Gathering

This year’s Illustrator SchmooZoom will take place online in zoom on the third Thursday of each month from 7-9 PM, except December. There is no Schmooze in December.

Each month be sure to email Lisa, at her email listed below, that you will be attending so she can send you the Zoom invite. The Schmoozes are a great place for chapter illustrators to gather to share inspiration and enjoy the company of other illustrators of children’s books. We will also exchange ideas, tips on materials, etc. and critique work.

So stay connected and share your creativity. Join Us!

Here are the dates for our 2021/2022 season Schmoozes: Be sure to email Lisa (email address below) as she will need to email you the Zoom invite each month.

Sept 16 –  Online

Oct 21 – Online

Nov 18 – Online

Dec  (No Schmooze in Dec)

Jan 20 – TBA (Possibly start in-person Schmoozes)

Feb 17 – TBA

Mar 17 – TBA 

April 21 – TBA

May 19 – TBA The last Schmooze of this season.

If you’d like to be included on the illustrators SchmooZoom email,  and to receive the monthly Zoom invite, please contact me, Lisa Venditelli Karmel, at schmooze.sandiego.scbwi@gmail.com

Upcoming Webinar Your IC’s What Everyone to Know About

MAKING WAVES: An Illustrator Event
November 5, 2021 – November 7, 2021
Hosted by Alaska, Hawaii, and MD/DE/WV SCBWI

Friday Social: 6-7 pm HST | 8-9pm AKST  | 12-1am EST
Saturday: 8am-3pm HST | 10am-5pm AKST | 2pm-9pm EST
Sunday: 8am-3pm HST | 9am-4pm AKST | 1pm-8pm EST

Join us for two days of craft-oriented presentations, hands-on intensives, optional critiques, and a juried art show! 
Featuring presenters:
Illustration and literary agent at The Tobias Agency Natascha Morris
Illustrator and animator David Depasquale
Art Director at Macmillan, Aram Kim
Art Director at Charlesbridge Kristen Nobles
Illustrator Vanessa Brantley-Newton
Illustrator Lucas Elliott
For more information and to register please visit https://mddewv.scbwi.org/events/making-waves-an-illustrator-event/