SCBWI

Society of
Children's Book Writers
and Illustrators

Webinars

webinar-art

SCBWI chapters around the world offer webinars that you are welcome to register for and attend. The Nevada region is now tracking and listing these webinars on their chapter website. Click here to be transfered to the list of open webinars they have compiled.

 

Please note that the webinars are listed in the order they are announced, so they appear roughly in reverse order of the date they will occur. Scroll down to see the full list of what is available.

 

To get back to the San Diego Chapter website, you will need to either click “My Home” at the top of the page or click on the round SCBWI logo to get back to the main SCBWI website and select the San Diego chapter from there.

MD/DE/WV Region Webinar: Everything You Ever Wanted to Know About Picture Research with Sue Macy. Sunday, November 4, 2018 at 3:00pm Eastern/ 2:00pm Central/ 1:00 pm Mountain/ 12:00pm Pacific. Images are an essential part of nonfiction for kids and young adults, but finding them can be time-consuming and using them can be expensive. Tune in to this webinar for answers to your burning questions about picture research, along with tried-and-true tips for hunting down images that will elevate your work. Sue will also share some inside advice from Lori Epstein, Photo Director of National Geographic Kids Books. SCBWI Members: $15, Non-Members: $25. Register at: https://mddewv.scbwi.org/events/everything-you-ever-wanted-to-know-about-picture-research-a-webinar-with-author-sue-macy/

Webinar Information:

On November 12 at 7:30 CST the Dakotas Region will offer a webinar — Tantalizingly True Stories: Writing Nonfiction that Kids–and Editors–Love

Award-winning science writer Rebecca L. Johnson will discuss her approach to writing nonfiction in today’s narrative-focused market. She will talk about market trends, different takes on narrative nonfiction, how she comes up with ideas and successfully promotes them with publishers, and how working directly with “primary sources” (think scientists!) in the field has enabled her to write firsthand about remarkable organisms and remote ecosystems.

Cost is only $15 for SCBWI members. Register at: https://dakotas.scbwi.org/events/webinar-tantalizingly-true-stories-writing-nonfiction-that-kids-and-editors-love/